Taking a Break

Two and a half years. That’s how long I’ve been posting on this blog. One hundred twenty-one posts. Once a week on Thursdays. Usually. Sometimes the posts were late. A few times, I didn’t post at all, like last week.

This blog was an experiment. Could I write a post every week? Could I express my thoughts in a way that made sense to someone other than me? Would those thoughts be something that someone would want to read? Would a reader enjoy what I wrote? And what did I want to write about?

The early posts were about the creative process in general. Some posts were about painting and included pictures of my work and my husband’s.

As time went on, though, my focus changed. I’m a city girl who never spent a lot of time deep in nature or thinking about it. Oh, I appreciated the grandness of spectacular mountain views, amazing rainbows, and the mesmerizing coming and going of the ocean’s waves. But, it’s only been in recent years that I took the time to look and listen carefully to the smaller, awesome sights and sounds in the natural world around me.

Nature became my inspiration for writing. It’s what I enjoy doing the most, and it has grown into a desire to write a book.

As with any artistic work, focus is required to take ideas and weave them together to create a cohesive whole. So, I’m going to take a break from blogging and spend the summer concentrating on my book.

Thanks to all of you who read, comment and follow this blog. It is always a thrill to come here and find your notes and new followers.

I hope your summer is filled with people you love, fun things to do and whatever else brings you joy and contentment.

I’ll be back in the fall to let you know how the book is coming along.

This entry was posted in creativity, inspiration, Life, nature, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking a Break

  1. It’s amazing to see how long you have been blogging. I recently started blogging and really enjoy it. Seeing someone doing it for so long inspires me to keep continuing to write. Best of luck with your book 🙂

  2. Iris says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blog every week and will miss it. If your blog is anything to go by, your book will be wonderful.

  3. Hello Lynn, sorry to hear you’re taking a break just as I was getting to know your blog! But excited to hear about the book project. Good luck with the writing — and keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

