Planning to be Spontaneous

Happy New Year!  I hope 2013 is off to a good start for each of you.

Lots of people are talking about their new year’s resolution and goals.  My post today is no exception.

I’ve been making lists of resolutions every January for a while now.  Each year, some goals are met; some are only attempted; and some fall by the wayside.  I guess that’s about normal.

This year my list includes some things I’m already doing that I want to continue, like my fitness program and blogging once a week.  A few things are on my list because I need a reminder to pay more attention to them, like reconnecting with friends and writing for 90 minutes, five days a week.  I just know there’s a book in me waiting to be written.

But this year, I’ve made an important addition to my list of resolutions, something that I’ve never done before.

I’m a big believer in planning and having goals.  Without a plan, I’d probably drift through the year and not accomplish much of anything.    So I have my goals for 2013, BUT I’m going to challenge myself with a plan to not have a plan all the time.

I got the idea from the squirrels in my back yard.

Have you ever seen a squirrel with a list?  I haven’t, but if you have, please post it in the comments section!

What I do see are squirrels scampering around the yard, stopping when they see a spot they like, and then digging vigorously.   Sometimes they come up with a nugget, sometimes they don’t.   They don’t seem to care one way or the other.  They look like they are just having so much fun exploring.  And when the unexpected treat presents itself, they dig in with gusto.

I’ve decided I need to be a bit more like the squirrels.  Spontaneous!    What a joy it will be to wander around a bit each day without a plan and see what delightful surprises I come up with.

That seems do-able to me, and for a life-long list maker and planner, this is a huge stretch.  I’ll let you know how it turns out in December.

I want to thank all of you who stop by to read this blog.  I like the “likes.”  I love the comments.  And I am grateful for all of you who follow the blog. 

This entry was posted in fun, inspiration, Life, recharging batteries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning to be Spontaneous

  1. Love the squirrel metaphor. Love, “Have you ever seen a squirrel with a list?” That’s just great!

Leave a Reply

