Christmas Break

It’s only December 13, and I’m not sure if I can listen to one more rendition of Frosty the Snowman walking in a winter wonderland, jingling sleigh bells at the most wonderful time of the year, waiting for Santa Claus to come down the chimney to find out if I’ve been naughty or nice.

I love Christmas music, but I needed a bit of a break from it and other things Christmas.

I took my time-out this week in nature.  I’m not a big fan of being cold; I’ll sit as close to a fireplace as I can, but a walk in the frosty winter air wakes me up, and I notice the details that make the outdoors so beautiful.   This is where I can marvel at the flit and flight of tiny bluebirds in the bare branches and stand mesmerized by the steady drip of ice melting in the sunshine.

Here is where I find some of the most beautiful music in the world – the sound of a creek tripping over rocks and gurgling past wadded up leaves and grasses.

While the smell of anything sugary baking is delightful, honestly, there is nothing better than the scent of pine trees that release their fragrance into the cold air.

The crunch of icy leaves on a path beneath my feet soothes me.

A solitary walk in winter’s wonderland, with its whispered soundtrack and understated, muted colors, is what brings me comfort and joy and where I find peace on earth.

This entry was posted in Christmas, hiking, inspiration, Life, nature, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

