Thanks for Writing

I’m grateful for so many blessings in my life, but today I want to focus on one in particular – writing!

Although I’ve been writing for most of my life, in recent years, it has moved from the “have-to” category of school and work projects to the “very much want-to” category of this blog and writing essays in the hope of eventually publishing a book.

I started this blog in October 2010 and made the commitment of weekly writing in January 2011.  Writing this blog has brought me so much pleasure, and it’s been a refuge during some challenging times over the past year.    I am grateful that I’ve had this creative outlet to express myself.

Blogging has introduced me some wonderful people all over the world.    I love reading all your comments, and I’m so happy when you hit the “like” button on a post.   I’m thankful for every one of you – visitor, “liker”, and follower.

I’m grateful for all the encouragement I’ve received from family and friends, too.

Bev Down of the Creativity Coaching Association got me started writing for publication when she asked me to write an article for her newsletter.  Saying “no” wasn’t an option, and I’ve been writing for her ever since.  She is a wonderfully supportive friend.

I found my writing teacher and friend, Elizabeth Ayres, through an online search for classes at the Elizabeth Ayres Center for Creative Writing .   Her unique program of turning writing dreams into reality sounded just right for me.  I’ve been working with her for four years.  Her encouragement and guidance has kept me going.

And then there is the one who started it all.  One day, I was bemoaning the fact that I just couldn’t find any creative work that I liked or felt I was good at.  My wonderful, supportive husband suggested I try writing for fun since I was constantly scribbling in a journal.   I had my doubts, but he didn’t.   He reads this blog so here it is.  Thanks, honey, for all your encouragement and believing in me!

So this is my Thanksgiving wish for all of you.  I hope you have many blessings in your life, including creative activities that bring you great joy.

© Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in creativity, fun, Thanksgiving, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanks for Writing

  1. Sometimes we just need a gentle shove in the back and then we’re off, surprising ourselves. Well done.

  2. lynnwyvill says:

    Thanks. I did surprise myself!

Leave a Reply

