Waiting

Perfectly still,

Perching on a fence rail,

A hawk waits.

He gives me only a glance

And then goes back to his silent trance

Until he feels the urge to move on.

With one push, the hawk ascends

To a high limb on a tree dressed in autumn gold.

A new perspective.

The hawk waits.

He isn’t there long.

Moving to a bare tree, grasping a limb

As the wind ruffles wing and breast feathers and

A squawking blue jay flaps around him,

The hawk waits.

I don’t. I’m tired of the waiting.

I have other things to do.

Later, I find the hawk outside my window

Waiting.  For me.

As I come close, so close that if glass was not there, we could touch, and

He turns to stare at me, and I at him

Until he blinks and looks away.

I decide to stay with him.

Waiting.

© Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in Life, nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting

  1. run4joy59 says:

    Oh my gosh, it’s like I could just see that majestic hawk outside your window, looking at you…

  2. lynnwyvill says:

    Thanks! He was so beautiful. I love those birds!

Leave a Reply

