I Break for Writing

I gave myself a gift this past weekend.  I went to the Elizabeth Ayres Center for Creative Writing to attend the Herring Creek Retreat for Writers.   The break gave me time to focus entirely on my writing with no distractions or responsibilities.

Here I found a peaceful, quiet zone on the water where I sat and watched the mesmerizing flow of the creek, allowing my mind to float here and there, gathering the bits and pieces that became the beginnings of many pages of writing.

At this retreat, I was finally able to hear what my writer’s heart had been trying to tell me, and I wrote like I’ve never written before.  I found a way to express ideas that I’ve been thinking about for a long time.  It may sound a bit over the top, but I had a breakthrough.

I left the retreat with what I had come looking for – inspiration.

© Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in inspiration, nature, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Break for Writing

  1. Brenda Curtis-Heiken says:

    That is wonderful! Brenda

  2. Inspired ! You must feel great.

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt # 034 « Writing@lasesana

  4. HI Lynn! Love your blog! I have come across recommendations on the Elizabeth Ayers Center. It sounds wonderful. I will look into going there now that I read yet another positive note on this facility. Thank you!

    • lynnwyvill says:

      Hi Karen,
      Thanks! Please do check out the center. I’ve been working with Elizabeth for about 4 years now and her approach to teaching and coaching really works.
      Lynn

Leave a Reply

