Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer

I haven’t heard the song “Those Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer” on the radio this year.  As a matter of fact, I haven’t heard the song in a long time, so I was surprised that it popped into my head the other day.  As always, it brought a smile to my face because Nat King Cole sounds so darn happy singing about summer.   

I remember the lazy, hazy days of summer growing up, although there wasn’t much craziness about them.  It was so hot and humid in those pre-air conditioning days that all we did was sit on the screened porch and try not to move any more than was absolutely necessary in an effort to stay cool. 

And I whined, not about the heat so much, but about how BORED I was.  I wanted to do something that was fun, exciting, different and crazy.   You want something to do, I was told, trim the grass along the fence line.  Talk about nothing to do!    Or I could sweep the patio.  Boring!

I still don’t want to be bored, and I certainly don’t want to give up my air conditioning, but I could use a little more lazy, like the old days, and a lot less hazy right now.    We’ve been crazy busy (which is not the kind of crazy I want) this summer, mostly with a family project, which is almost over.  But so is summer!  I will not ask the old person question of “where did the summer go?”  I know where it went.  I’m looking at it in the rear view mirror of life.

But summer’s hazy isn’t quite over.  So here’s to making the rest of the season lazy and crazy fun for all of us!

©Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in fun, summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

