Books, Birds and Thanks

Books – Well, last week’s post on summer reading was pretty popular so I thought I’d follow up with that.

Naomi commented on the post and said she had just finished reading The Mating Season by P.G. Wodehouse and Love and Summer by William Trevor. 

I thought I’d add a few titles I’ve read and enjoyed.

Something Missing: A Novel by Matthew Dicks

My Mother Died Before I Could Murder Her – A Novel by Seymour Englander

Stoner by John Williams and John McGahern

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Now it’s your turn to share the titles of books you’ve enjoyed. 

Birds – Here’s an update on the robin’s nest that I posted about a few weeks ago.   I noticed about a week ago that momma bird had moved off the nest to sit beside it.   It didn’t look like the nest had any activity, and I didn’t hear any baby bird sounds, either.  But last weekend, I saw three little heads peeking out, waiting for their dinner delivery which arrived shortly after I stepped outside.  Hungry little beaks opened and momma bird fed all of them. 

Earlier this week, I checked on them.  Momma was keeping watch beside the nest.  The babies are growing rapidly.  Now they can stretch their necks so they can easily see over the rim of the nest while they practice their chirps. 

Yesterday, one of them was out of the nest. 

New life always makes me smile.

Thanks So Much – And finally, a note of thanks to all of you who are stopping by, hitting the like button, taking the time to write comments, and signing up to follow my blog.  I am grateful to all of you and hope that you enjoy visiting and will continue to come back. 

©Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in fun, Life, nature, summer, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

