Moving On

A brand new two-level condo went up recently in our backyard.  Robins have built nests, one above the other in the angles of the awning over our back door.  They are quite plush with lots of long vines and grasses piled up to create snug little homes. 

There’s a lot of construction debris, however.   What didn’t make it into the nest dropped onto the back porch, the storm door and just about everywhere else it happened to land in the surrounding area.  Unfortunately, however, they didn’t move a much –needed porta-potty onto the site. 

When I first discovered the nest, I should have put a stop to it.  Not that it would have done any good.   In my experience, once the birds have found their ideal spot, they are tenacious in hanging on to their claim.   But I thought I’d give it a try. 

By the time I got around to it, though, I found Mama Bird sitting in her nest.  Too late!  It looks like babies are on their way.  And once the babies are hatched, all of them will move on, and the nest will be empty. 

The idea of leaving a home got me thinking about people and their possessions.  You know, all that “important stuff” we accumulate over a lifetime.

I’m approaching, but not quite there, the point in my life where I’m going to downsize.   My parents are downsizing, as are my friend’s parents.   It becomes clear as closets, drawers and table tops are cleared that things that seemed important, necessary, when they were first acquired, are now superfluous.  You also realize, boy, this is a lot of stuff!   Lovely things, useful at the time, but now…? 

It raises the question about what you would grab if you had to leave your house in a big hurry.  What if you could only take what you could carry or only fill the trunk of your car or you were going to be living in a much smaller space?

Coming up with those answers may be harder than you think.    

© Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in inspiration, Life, nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving On

  1. In recent years I’ve been pondering this too. I have set myself a task each year to reach the end of it owning fewer physical possessions. It’s harder than you think. Selling or dumping loads of stuff is easier said than done and then there’s always that years additions which just seemed so “must have” at the time. It’s heartening to try though.
    What would I grab and run ? My lovely guitar.

    • lynnwyvill says:

      That is a great goal for each year. I’m going to try that, too. You are so right – easier said than done. We had a “rule” here that when one thing came in, another thing had to go out. We did pretty well with that.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Lynn

Leave a Reply

