Coloring Winter’s World

All the Christmas decorations are put away for another year.  I don’t know about you, but the house always looks so bare to me after the lights and shiny glass ornaments are gone.   Without the bright greens and reds, and the glittery silver and gold, my surroundings look drab.  At this point, it seems that the next few months are probably going to involve a bad case of the “grays.”  But I’d be wrong.   No, I don’t have a tropical vacation planned, but I noticed something standing at my kitchen window the other day. 

Once the twinkle and the busyness of the season are gone, it’s as if the volume of my world is turned down.  That’s when it’s easier to notice the little things that color winter’s world.   Now I can’t miss the red cardinal on the snowy branch.   Tiny nuthatches perched on slender twig- like branches, looking dapper in their black caps, make me smile.

And how about the holly berry red that pops against the glossy green leaves?  I love the deep green of pine trees and their fragrance that perfume a winter’s day. 

Even the squirrels wear a warm blend of a grey and brown cloak over a fluffy white belly that they flash as they stand on hind legs after digging vigorously in the yard, content that they’ve buried something good that no one else will ever be able to find. 

Green moss clings to the brick walkway as a reminder that spring will eventually come again.  

Pink and lavender streaks across dawn’s sky and at dusk muted splashes of gold mesmerize me. 

Some call this the dead of winter, but I don’t think so.  It’s just the world quietly resting.  A good time to wrap up winter’s cozy peace.     

© Lynn Wyvill 2012

This entry was posted in nature, winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coloring Winter’s World

  1. run4joy59 says:

    I think we’re sometimes more attuned to the quiet beauty around us once we’ve put away all the baubles of Christmas. I love watching the birds outside my kitchen window.

  2. Brenda Curtis-Heiken says:

    I love how you wrote this. Because I too love the bright splashes of color winter provides such as the Cardinal…good work

Leave a Reply

