Fifty-One Weeks of Writing Experiments

I did it!  I decided back on January 13, 2011 that I would blog once a week for the rest of the year.  That seemed pretty ambitious to me since I had posted only twice back in October 2010 when I started the blog.   But I wanted to set a goal and see if I could meet it.    While I didn’t always have the post up first thing on Thursdays, there was a new post every week. 

My big fear was that I would run out of things to write about.  Why I don’t know since I almost never run out of things to talk about!  But writing something each week just seemed different than talking and much more challenging. 

Blogging advice suggested that I should have a cohesive theme to all this.  The thinking being that people want to know what to expect when they click on a blog.  Okay.  I decided that my theme would be Creativity since I was a creativity coach.  I named by blog, “Lynn’s Creativity Post.”   The plan was to write about how to be more creative, incorporate creativity into everyday life, overcome blocks, find time for creativity and on the list went.  All important topics. 

While I enjoyed writing about creativity, I discovered what I really wanted to do was write about all sorts of other things.  Since my first year of blogging was an experiment, I decided to branch out and do some creative writing and see what kind of reaction I got.   I posted essays about nature and sprinkled in a little bit of fiction because that’s fun to write, too. 

Working on the essays about nature sharpened my observational skills and prompted me to reflect on what Mother Nature could teach me about human nature.  Fiction was where I could get lost in make-believe, making up any story I wanted to, a wonderful imaginative stretch. 

I can’t decide which one I like more so for right now, I’m just going to go with the writing flow and write whatever moves me.  Eventually, I’ll rename this blog.  Not sure what that will be just yet, but I’m confident that it will come to me.   

I’m proud of meeting my goal to blog every week.  Writing and reading your comments has brought me great joy.   I’m so grateful for all of you who visit this blog and take the time to read and comment on what I have written. 

Best wishes to all of you for 2012 to be filled with many blessings and the opportunity to do the things that bring you great joy!

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in creativity, nature, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

