Getting Caught in the Flow

Where do you go for inspiration?  There are lots of places I go to seek the creative muse, but one that always works for me is being around water. 

The lapping of waves at the ocean as the sun bounces off the water creating a shimmering light is something that I can watch endlessly.  Getting lost in that never ending ebb and flow takes my imagination on a ride to new ideas.

The gentle flow of a stream traveling around and over river rocks invites me to hitch a ride on its current and see where my thoughts take me.

The spray of a fountain as it shoots upward or cascades over the lip of its basin bids my mind to jump in and splash around to see what creative play turns up.

Watch the water play.  Let water slip through fingertips.  Dip toes in cold water.  Listen to water move.  Inhale the fresh or salty aroma of water.        

Ah, there is nothing better than water to awaken the creative spirit. 

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in art, Beach, creativity, inspiration, Life, nature, recharging batteries and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting Caught in the Flow

  1. Randall says:

    Wonderful article. I know what you mean. I have not been to an ocean, but I love going to the Gulf and viewing and endless view of water, so beautiful. Thank you for yor post.

  2. sydrak says:

    Nice descriptions!
    For inspiration I always to to my own personal wonderland. I daydream so much, even when walking to the store, that I wouldn’t notice if the ghost of Elvis passed me! But I also find inspiration in art, music, other writers, movies, even friends and family. I think you can find inspiration anywhere, I just read about a guy who found inspiration in a card board box in the subway:P

    • lynnwyvill says:

      Daydreaming is wonderful, isn’t it? I laughed when I read the part about noticing the ghost of Elvis going by! Yeah, there is inspiration all around us. All we have to do is tune in. I’m fascinated by the guy who found inspiration in a cardboard box. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

