Largest Painting So Far

I just finished the largest picture I’ve ever painted – 31 x 50!  Before that, my largest painting was 18 X 24. 

My inspiration was a large brick wall on my screened in porch. 

It’s been bare for as long as we’ve lived in this house.    Every year I say I’m going to put something on that wall.  We talked about cutting a piece of wood in the shape of a slice of watermelon with a bite taken out.  Somehow that never happened.  I thought my husband might paint something, but that didn’t happen either.  So I decided to do something myself. 

I painted a small 16 x 20 sunset scene several months ago and decided this would be a great project to tackle on a larger scale.  My husband made the “canvas” out of wood.  Good thing it wasn’t any bigger; it just fit on my work table.  To finish the edges, I had to walk around the table to get to everything.      

The size was intimidating.  I experimented with different size brushes, carefully putting down ribbons of color.  I found that you can’t be timid when you are working big like this.  As I added color, I got bolder – yellow here, red there, and then purples, blues, pinks, white, lots and lots of paint.  The brush strokes became looser, and I found myself thinking, it’s only wood and paint,  Go for it!    The freedom of being lost in color and design was incredible. 

So here it is, a virtual visit to my screened in porch to see “Happy Hour.”

 

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

 

This entry was posted in abstract painting, inspiration, painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Largest Painting So Far

  1. Iris says:

    The pictures don’t do it justice. I enjoyed seeing it in person…it is wonderful.

  2. Lynn Wyvill says:

    I’m glad you like it!

  3. I love your vibrancy. Good stuff, and well done for meeting the challenge.

Leave a Reply

