Serene Solitude

Maybe it’s because the thermometer hit 86 degrees yesterday, but I’m ready for summer – not the heat and humidity, but I want to be at the beach.    There is nothing like digging your toes into the sand and listening to that mesmerizing coming and going of the waves.   And my favorite time of day to do that is sunrise.   

Usually, there aren’t too many people on the beach when the golden light of the sun is just peeking over the horizon.   The ones who are here are usually alone,  seeking some solitude from a noisy, busy world as they fish, surf, or enjoy their first cup of coffee.   A few ambitious ones are jogging (I tried that once, but I wasn’t crazy about all that sand in my shoes!).  My favorite is wandering down the beach, collecting shells, as the sun shimmers on the water.   Like the woods that I wrote about last week, it’s a place where I can just relax and let my mind go roaming for ideas and inspiration.  

Unfortunately, I’m not going to get to the beach anytime soon, so a photo will have to do for now.  

© Lynn Wyvill, 2010   

© Lynn Wyvill, 2011

This entry was posted in Beach, fun, inspiration, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Serene Solitude

  1. Iris says:

    I love the beach too…6ish after the crowds leave and the waves come in and wipe the beach clean again.

  2. Lynn Wyvill says:

    Oh, yeah! That is a wonderful time to be on the beach.

Leave a Reply

