Stand Still

When I was a little girl, my grandfather bet me a dime, I couldn’t stand still for 10 minutes.  I wanted that dime, so I took the bet.  

After trying really hard to not fidget, wiggle, jump around or otherwise move, I asked “How long have I been standing still, Grandpa?” figuring it must have been over 10 minutes, because it certainly seemed like forever. 

He grinned and said, “You’ve been there one minute; you have nine more to go.”

My shoulders slumped.  I wanted the dime, but the need to move was overwhelming.  So I gave in, jumped off the porch and went running around the yard, delighted to be free.

I’ve been on the move ever since. 

Running in the sunshine with a breeze chasing you is one of best feelings in the world. Racing around from one chore, errand, and project to the next with not a moment to rest is not.

So here’s what I’m doing today.  I’m stopping to recharge. 

I’ve been in the sunshine, watching the puffy white clouds float across a clear blue sky as they form ever-changing pictures of animals, boats and everything else delightful.     I’ve gotten lost in a couple of games of computer mahjong and even won one!   I even took a short nap!   A chocolate peanut butter egg, left from the Easter candy stash, has been savored, instead of gulped down.  One of my favorite CDs, “The Isle of Dreaming” by Kate Price, is playing right now.  I’m going to put my feet up and just listen and let my mind drift.   I’m going to stay here, without moving, for a whole 10 minutes – at a minimum.   

Thanks for stopping by.

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in fun, inspiration, Life, recharging batteries and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

