The Creative Mix

When I started out in creativity coaching, I had several clients who were juggling multiple types of creative projects.  They wanted to pursue lots of creative outlets – writing, painting, photography, drawing, collage, and on their lists went – toggling back and forth among them, wherever their creative spirit took them.    How they could juggle all that?  I  wondered why they didn’t choose one area and concentrate on that.   I think I’ve figured it out.   

Three years ago, after trying drawing, ceramics, collage, photography and … well, you get the idea; I decided to give writing a go again.  I loved it and happily immersed myself in this, and only this.  Until recently. 

I am married to an artist, an oil painter of landscapes.  Each week, he mixes paint and plays with shadow and light, color and composition, creating a new painting.  I wanted to be able to do that.  I didn’t have the desire or the skill to paint as he does, but those tubes of paint just kept calling my name.  That’s when I decided to paint.  After all, what was the worst that could happen?  So over the past year, I have played with all those beautiful colors in abstract painting.   

But I did feel guilty.  Shouldn’t I be concentrating on writing?  But, did I want to miss out on something that looked like a lot of fun?   End of debate with self.  Now I paint AND I write.  What I have discovered is that I need the creative mix of them both.  Moving back and forth between words and color frees my thinking, allows ideas to flow, provides a fresh perspective and gets the creative synapses firing. 

Oh!  Now, I understand!

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in abstract painting, creativity, inspiration, painting, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Creative Mix

  1. Val Johnson says:

    And to think I’m been criticising myself for years for all the hours I’ve spent sewing, crocheting, and dabbeling in photography. Come to think of it, you’re right about having a fresh perspective. That’s exactly what it feels like after taking a break from writing before returning. The only drawback is that usually it is difficult to begin working on an unfinished piece again. Its almost as though I’m no longer the same writer and I end up abandoning those pieces altogether.

    • lynnwyvill says:

      Oh, please don’t criticize yourself! You are being very creative doing all those things! I know what you mean about taking a break from writing. It can be hard to get going again. I find that journaling sometimes helps just to get myself writing again. Like you, I have some abandoned pieces, but I save them. You never know you might want a “piece” of that writing for a new project. And maybe one of your photographs may be a great prompt for getting a writing piece gong again.

  2. The only way to really get it going is to unleash every bit of creativity in every medium that looks appealing…I take photos, draw, paint, write professionally and find they all affect one another in helpful ways, if only to remember I have multiple talents and ways of seeing. I grew up in a home like this…My father, a film-maker, paints in oil, does etchings and engravings and lithos and even works in silver. It seemed normal to me.

    Last fall, as I was writing my new memoir (out April 14!), I carved out three hours every Friday morning for a month to take a class in drawing with colored pencils. I couldn’t really justify the time away from the computer — but came home every time relaxed, calm and so refreshed I was able to work for hours. I’m so glad I did it and am eager to get back to it.

    • lynnwyvill says:

      I like that advice to unleash every bit of creativity in every medium that looks appealing. We all need to remember that we have multiple talents and ways of see. Your father sounds very creative too. Wow – silver! I always thought that was fascinating work. Congratulations on your memoir! And I hope you go back to your drawing soon.

  3. Iris says:

    Enjoying your posts! Makes me realize that what I didn’t really think of as “creative” really is!

  4. Sarah Grusin says:

    I agree about the starting. Often my head gets in the way of my fingers.

Leave a Reply

