What Do Shoes Have to Do with It?

I received the most creative and wonderful gift this past Christmas.   My husband bought me writing shoes – beautiful salmon- colored fleece lined moccasins.  Aren’t they cute?

Now you may be wondering, what do shoes have to do with creativity and writing?   For me, quite a bit.   When I sit still for a long period of time, my feet get cold and that’s miserable and makes it hard to concentrate.   But the shoes are much more than feet warmers.   They are an invitation.   When I see my colorful shoes peeking out from under my desk, they beckon me to sit down, get comfortable and write.  Their gorgeous color reminds me of all the beautiful things in the world that can inspire me as I write.  They are also a symbol that someone cares deeply for me, encouraging and supporting me as I pursue this creative expression that makes me happy. 

Many creative people talk about their rituals, the things that they do each time to help them prepare to begin their work.  Meditating, lighting a candle, making a cup of coffee, playing music, or putting on a soft old shirt are just a few ways people bring their minds to focus solely on the creative work.  These rituals, whatever they may be, help us put the demands of the rest of our day on hold.  We are making time to use our imagination and curiosity to create work that both challenges us and brings us joy. Slipping my feet into my beautiful shoes are part of my ritual. 

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in creativity, fun, inspiration, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Do Shoes Have to Do with It?

  1. Brenda says:

    Lynn, I just pour a glass of “Kim Crawford” Sauvignon Blanc and start writing my newsletter or whatever! I would rather think of my creative side on the golf course figuring out how to create an impossible shot. Brenda

  2. lynnwyvill says:

    That works. And creativity can be applied anywhere,including golf!

Leave a Reply

