Discovering my Inner Writer

Being a writer was never on my list of things I wanted to be when I grew up.  Somehow I ended up in a profession that required a lot of it.  I have kept a daily journal for years which I enjoy tremendously.  And I love stories.  I had a love/hate relationship with writing – hated the process, loved being done.   Writing was extremely hard work for me and not very enjoyable.   

But several years ago after a train ride to New York, where I scribbled in my journal for three hours and ignored my husband, he suggested I write stories – for fun.  Who, me?  That sounded like a really bad idea for a lot of reasons.  But the idea grew on me, so I went in search of a class.

I found Elizabeth Ayres’ Creative Writing Center, www.creativewritingcenter.com, and thought she is the perfect teacher for me.   Elizabeth is the author of Writing the Wave, Know the Way: Poems, and her latest book, Invitation to Wonder, www.invitationtowonder.com.  She also has a lovely blog with her lyric reflections on nature.     

Elizabeth is a gifted teacher who runs very special innovative online writing programs designed to help you find your inner writer.  I have had the privilege of working with Elizabeth for the past three years, both in workshops and private coaching.   Elizabeth’s programs get you up and writing right away.  You will find support and encouragement from both Elizabeth and the small group of students in each workshop who take the writing journey with you.  Elizabeth has new classes starting soon.

Through these workshops, writing has become not only fun for me, but an important part of my life.  I am amazed at my growth as a writer, creating work that I never dreamed I was capable of. 

I have discovered the joy of writing and for that I am very grateful. 

© Lynn Wyvill 2011

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

