Creative Bones – Creative Spirit

“I don’t have a creative bone in my body.”  I can’t count how many times I have heard that statement from people of all ages and backgrounds.  It got me thinking.  Nobody has a creative bone in his or her body.  We have all kinds of bones, but nowhere in our skeletons is a creative bone.  Even famous artists and writers don’t have creative bones.  OK, you say, it’s just an expression!  True, but it’s that thinking there’s something missing that  seems to stop many people in their creative tracks. 

Here’s what I believe – Everyone is creative.  Some argue that you have to be in the arts to be creative, but writing, painting, drawing, acting, and photography are just a few ways to express our creative selves.  Cooking, gardening, decorating a house, accessorizing an outfit, and restoring old cars are also creative endeavors.  Even starting and growing a business is a creative act. 

So what is this creativity all about?  Your creativity is a blend of ideas, imagination, curiosity, and a willingness to jump in and bring something new into existence that is unique to you.  When we think about it that way,  the realm of creativity opens up and is  accessible to everyone. 

Why is this idea so important to me?  Because when I was a kid, I had a lot of imagination and I like to try new things.  It didn’t matter if it worked out or if I was good at it.  I just wanted to try.  I lost that creative spirit along the way, but I was delighted to find it again a few years ago. 

This blog is about exploring the mysterious realm of creativity and discovering and developing our creative potential.  My hope is that what you find here will give you ideas to ponder, cause you to ask “what if,” and inspire you to use your creativity to pursue your  unique way of expressing yourself. 

No one has creative bones, but we all have a creative spirit.

© Lynn Wyvill 2010

This entry was posted in creativity, inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Creative Bones – Creative Spirit

  1. sherridaubert says:

    Loved your post and your thought process. You are very creative and have a good sense of what is appealing visually. Nice job!

  2. Margo Dill says:

    Ah, yes, but wouldn’t it be so much easier if we did have creative bones? LOL 🙂 Nice post, and I like where your blog is heading. Let’s get creative! 🙂

  3. mardra says:

    “Creative Bone” – great jumping board for your point. You are preaching to the choir here, I agree wholeheartedly that we use our creativity in so many aspects of our lives. And it is critical for our external success and internal sense of, well, ourself. I look forward to what you’ll share next. – Mardra

  4. Glenda says:

    You could have written this post specifically for me. So many times I have wondered where the message came to me that I was not creative, or I could not draw….on and on. I love your post and will definitely read it to see your thought process on creativity.

  5. Zulema E. Suarez says:

    Lynn,

    I, too, can relate! When I was a child, I loved drawing, and I was pretty good at it, but I told myself I was not creative, and I stopped. Lately, I have been listening when friends tell me that I am creative. Thanks for your blog! I look forward to reading future posts, as my creative spirit continues to unfold.

    • lynnwyvill says:

      Hi Zulema,
      Listen to what your friends are telling and if drawing brings you joy, then give that a go again. But whatever you do, believe that you are
      creative.

      Lynn

  6. Tricia says:

    Creative bones … I love it! Good inspirational blog, Lynn. Looking forward to reading on a consistent basis.

    Tricia

Leave a Reply

